Soft Waves With a Curling Iron — AKA Taylor Swift Hair

That Taylor Swift.  She kind of bugs me but there’s no denying that she has great hair. Taylor Swift HairHer waves are well defined and not super spiral-y.  For years I’ve been trying to achieve this look.  I’ve used fat curling irons, skinny curling irons, straightening irons, actual irons (just kidding) and I have never been able to replicate that look.  On good days I got something like this:good hair day with a curling ironAnd on bad days something like this: (oh dear God, that’s terrible): bad hair day with curling ironDid anyone else immediately think Shirley Temple??

Well, it turns out that I had the right tool all along but I was using it the wrong way. (That’s what she said).  So now that I’ve mastered the technique and am able to achieve this: Taylor Swift Hair with Curling IronI thought I’d share that technique with the rest of the world.  All you need is a regular 3/4 inch curling iron.  Take a look at my Taylor Swift hair tutorial here:

If you try this method, send us a link to your photo!

4 Comments

Filed under we create

4 responses to “Soft Waves With a Curling Iron — AKA Taylor Swift Hair

  1. Sabrina Gad

    I LOVED watching you on this ‘how to’ video! I will definitely be trying this and sending you my pic 🙂

  2. Just started following your blog and I love it. Thanks for this video. I am always looking for ways to make my messy natural curls look neater and voluminous and this might be the solution!

  3. Kiomy Bonilla

    Cat have you tried to do this when your hair is just air dried and not flat ironed?

    • Actually my hair was blowdried here, not flat ironed. If it’s flat ironed the curls are usually a lot looser. You should be fine either way though. 🙂

Leave a Reply

