The Art of the Christmas Card

I’ve always been challenged by the art of staying in touch.  I’m terrible at it.  The problem with that is that most people who care about you genuinely want hear about your life.  They want to see your growing family, they want to hear about any life-changing events, et cetera.  Some would say that social media makes traditional correspondence obsolete, but I don’t think many could deny the feeling they get when they receive an old fashioned piece of mail — that is not a bill or a credit card pre-approval.  And once you are an adult (usually marked by a relationship status change of single to married on facebook) it becomes an obligation to keep people apprised of your life, no matter how much of a hermit you were in your youth.  You’re a grown up now – time to observe a certain sense of decorum.

Since this had been such a challenge for me in the past, I had to develop a strategy to attack it.  So, where to begin? The first step was to identify the people/families who would be on our mailing list.  For us, it was our wedding guest list plus and minus a few folks.  Second, we identified events for which we would be sending correspondence.  Mass notifications for us will include Christmas cards and baby announcements (when the time comes… a long, long time from now…) For a select few, we will also make sure to send birthday cards.  Finally, we had to figure out what kind of cards we would send.  I’m a paper snob so I’m always on the lookout for good quality stationery but I also really love well made photo cards.  The highest quality ones that I’ve found come from moo and tinyprints. Actually, our Christmas cards this year were from tinyprints and I love them.  They are printed on thick card stock and have a matte paper finish:

Christmas Card 2011
Setting it up so that sending Christmas cards or birthday cards is not a fiasco makes it a lot easier to follow through with the resolution.  I use an excel spreadsheet to keep a list of contacts, complete with updated address information.  When it’s time to do a mass mailing, I create mailing labels by using the mail merge function in Word (more on that here).  Finally to add a special touch, I usually change the font to something a little prettier than Times New Roman.  I love handwriting fonts and for our Christmas cards this year I used Pea Jack and Jane from kevinandamanda.com/fonts/fontsforpeas.  They have a ton of amazing free fonts that they’ve created from handwriting sample submissions! Here’s an example of our mailing label:

Pea Jack and Jane LabelAnyway, I hope our friends and family enjoy our cards and I look forward to next year’s holiday season.  I’ve already been busy pinning inspiration ideas on Pinterest for next year’s card! Do you have any tips and tricks on keeping up with correspondence? Share below :).

1 Comment

Filed under we create

One response to “The Art of the Christmas Card

  1. Pingback: Resolutions | city and burbs

Leave a Reply

