Resolutions

.

I used to think that New Year’s resolutions were a crapshoot. Year after year, my resolutions to ‘get fit’ and ‘read more’ have gone uncompleted. But after some time in corporate America, I realized what the problem was with my resolutions – there was no way to measure success. (I can almost hear my manager saying, “Metrics. Success is all about tangible metrics.”) For the past two years I’ve made concrete goals and have been pretty successful in attaining them. (Granted, last year’s only goal was to get married :).) So without the burden (also, blessing) of planning a wedding this year, 2012 is going to be about improving myself.

I realize I’m a bit late to the resolution party but I’ve been letting 2012 stew for a little bit. After several days of pondering, here are my 2012 resolutions:

2012 Resolutions

number 1 | furnish and decorate entire first floor

We’ve lived in our house for over a year. For months I’ve been pinning ideas for our living room, dining room, kitchen and entryway. So now, it’s time to take all that Pinterest energy and get our home out of the ‘in progress’ stage. Once that’s done we can…

number 2 | have a party

I really love hosting parties. I love planning the menu, creating playlists, picking a signature drink, and then watching everything come together. It was one of the reasons I loved planning our wedding so much. So, once our house is finished, I’d love to have people come over and enjoy it.

number 3 | spend more time with girlfriends

As I mentioned in a post a few weeks back, I’m terrible at keeping in touch. Unfortunately, this extends to some of my closest girlfriends too. I’m not a huge phone/text person — I do my best communicating face to face. So, in 2012, I’d like to make sure that I see my girlfriends at least once a month.

number 4 | finally order our wedding album

Our wedding photographer, Tatiana Breslow, was outstanding. She took spectacular photos and documented the day better than I could have imagined. She gave us all the high res images and I guess that made me a little lazy on the album front. But it would be a sin not to have a professional album of our wedding so, that’s on the list for 2012.

number 5 | implement skills learned in social media marketing class

Last semester, Diana and I took a Social Media Marketing class at our alma mater, Rutgers University. We learned a ton about blogging and branding and I hope to put that knowledge to use this year. More specifically, to put a little more structure around our the management of our blog and to do quarterly reviews on our progress.

number 6 | accessorize more

I am a big fan of the show What Not to Wear. Aside from my inner Cher Horowitz loving the makeover aspect, I also really respect their message that it is important to look presentable. A lot of times, the women on this show have the mistaken perception that those of us who care about fashion are frivolous and vain. I get such a great sense of satisfaction when they finally realize that looking your best makes you comfortable enough to be your best. It’s all just really touching, but I digress. The point is, that it’s important to look polished. Well put-together outfits are the first step, but it really is the accessories that help to complete a look. So, more baubles in 2012!

number 7 | take the next step in my career

Well, once I’m all polished and accessorized, that has to translate into at least one rung on the corporate ladder, right? Seriously though, I’ve been in my current position for 5 years and have amassed a ton of knowledge that I think has prepared me well for the rest of my career. So, I’m ready to advance to the next phase on my path to total world domination ;).

That’s it for me for 2012 — do you have any resolutions for this year?

2 Comments

Filed under we create

2 responses to “Resolutions

  1. I love your resolutions! I agree, we need metrics. I always make resolutions w/o metrics and that is why they do not come to fruition. I will make some metrics 🙂 Thanks Cat!!

  2. I love these goals, especially spend more time with girlfriends and order the wedding album! A few blog friends and I introduced a new challenge idea Monday and it would be so fun if you want to join. If you have a second, check in at http://thespacebetweenblog.wordpress.com/2012/01/09/imagine-the-impossibilities-challenge/ to learn more, and feel free to email me if you have any questions!
    Karah @ thespacebetweenblog

Leave a Reply

