Keep it Professional

I wanted to keep it simple and professional today.  I threw on my trusty Editor Pants.  Unlike Cat, I feel like the Editor pants work better on my body.   Check out her post on Editors vs Columnist.   We have many things in common, however height is not one of them!  Cat is 5’7″ (or 8″….I conviniently forget) and I’m 5’2″ (well according to my last MD visit I’m 5′ 1.75″…I round up).  I’m constantly try to find ways to make my legs look longer.  Here are some tips.  (1) Always wear heels with slacks. (2) Keep the hem at least 1/2 inch from the floor, the longer the length the longer your legs will appear.  Just be careful not too make them too long becuase then you’ll look sloppy, you don’t want that.  If you must get all your pants altered (I do) , make sure you bring the shoes you will wear most with those pants. 

If you’re short, like me, what thing do you do to appear taller?

Top: Jcrew, Pants: Express, Shoes: Calvin Klein, Watch: Audermas Piaget, Necklace: Jcrew

5 Comments

by | Mar 1, 2012 · 8:07 am

5 responses to “Keep it Professional

  1. your pants are hemmed to perfection! Good tip about the 1/2 inch from the floor when hemming…i never knew what the rule of thumb was!

    • Diana

      Thanks doll face! For us little people 1/2 inch works, you may be able to get away with 1inch….no more than that 🙂
      xx,
      D

  2. Doll, I need you to do a do over in my closet.. my extra baby pounds are such a challenge these days … 😦

  3. Haha, great advice! I definitely wear heels with my slacks, and I put on my power-walk. My coworkers are always surprised when I wear flats/oxfords because they’re not used to seeing me “be short”

Leave a Reply

