Trend of the Month – Neon

I’m so excited to participate in Marion’s first Trend of the Month Challenge!  This month’s challenge is Neon…yay!  Since I work in a corporate envronment but still want to wear the latest trends, I always try to figure out a way to wear them to the office and still remain professional.  Some trends never make it, such as cutouts, colored denim or sheer, however I think I can pull neon off.  As I mentioned in Monday’s post,  I worked on these shoes over the weekend  (I forgot I had a bit of Martha Stewart in me) Since they are already pretty loud, I decided to pair them with a black dress to tone the look down.   I would probably skip the necklace during the day, but add it later on for after work cocktails.

What do you think?  Would you wear neon to the office?

Dress: Magaschoni, Shoes: DIY, Necklace: DYI

18 Comments

Filed under we wear

18 responses to “Trend of the Month – Neon

  1. Yay for neon and black 🙂 I too had to wearing neon in a way that I could appear sane in my office! And when I see DIY I’m super impressed, how did you do your shoes? 🙂

  2. You look FABULOUS and I love love love the shoes!! You make me want to make a pair similar!!

  3. Maribel

    Love the shoes! I like the look.

  4. Oh my gosh…LOVE this look Di!! Those shoes are amazing…And I could totally see rocking this at work (agree with your take on adding the necklace for after work). Seriously though…neon look incredible on you!

    And thanks so much for jumping in on my first Trend Challenge! XOXO

  5. Kiomy Bonilla

    I LOVE your outfit! but most of all I LOVE your shoes!! and yes I would definitely wear neons to work I think its a great way to add a pop of color to any outfit. I can’t wait to make my pair

  6. Diana

    Thanks Kiomy! Have a great day! 🙂

  7. Those shoes are amazing!!! I absolutely love the neon cap-toe 🙂

  8. Wow, those shoes and necklace are DIY? I am SO impressed! I think you did a great job incorporating a fun trend while still remaining professional.

    I have the same challenge – corporate job, small-town environment, which means if I wear a leopard fedora to work, I get stared at. Whatever – I wore it anyway! It just means we corporate girls have to be more creative with fashion, right? 🙂

    • Diana

      Totally agree! I sometimes get funny looks when I come in with bright green pants or a royal blue shift dress…done them both 🙂

  9. Omg! Those shoes are DIY?!! How amazing are you? I’m going back to check out that post, what a creative idea!! And now just looking back over this post, I see that the necklace is DIY as well? Too fabulous, I love it 😉

    • Diana

      Thanks!!! Yes..both DIYs. But I can’t take the credit for it. I got simple instructions for both the shoes and the necklace from A Pair and A Spare. There’s linke to the shoes on the post.

      Tha nks for stopping by 🙂

  10. Found your blog from the link up 🙂 I love how you made neon office appropriate! And very impressed that your necklace is DIY!

    -Sharon
    The Tiny Heart

    • Diana

      Hey there, thanks! Yeah, it was easy. Take any necklace (put on a primer if necessary) and spray paint away. Do light layers and let it dry in between so it doesn’t cake up. A voila, neon necklace. At first it will smell a little weird but after a couple of wears it will be fine. Oh, and it won’t get on your clothes as long as you let it dry well. 🙂

  11. Pingback: I admit, I’m obsessed with neon! | city and burbs

Leave a Reply

