Don’t worry, be happy

Working around Penn Station in NYC I see the craziest things.  People talking to people that aren’t’ really there, a mom changing a kid’s diaper as he stand at the bus stop (yes, that really happened!).  It’s a very diverse place, to say the least.   I’ve become immune to it, so not much surprises me anymore.  Plus, there’s always so much going on that the memory of what I’ve seen or heard lasts for about 30 seconds and I’m quickly distracted by something else.   Today was not much different, except that I was on the PATH with nowhere to go until I arrived to my stop.  I was standing next to a man listening to his ipod, he was listening to Jay Z’s “Paris”.  I knew that because it was so loud I could clearly hear the lyrics…it’s actually a favorite of mine (I know, I’m a hip-hop junkie).   Anyway, he was holding onto the top railing moving, shaking and mouthing the lyrics as if he was at the club.  I immediately thought “this guy is crazy” and proceeded to step a few steps away (as much as I could in a crowded subway cart).  As I’m staring at him, he looks at me, smiles and keeps on dancing.  I laughed and realized, this guy is not crazy, he’s just happy.  It is 7am in the morning and everyone is miserable, including me.  He’s dancing and enjoying life at 7am and he wants the world to know.  I wanted to join in his dance party, but that was a bit too much for me.  All I know is that he made me smile for the rest of the morning.   Thank you happy PATH guy! 

Now onto today’s outfit.  As I near my mid-30’s (crap!), I’ve learned a lot about how to dress for my body, size and about my style.  I try to buy things that I can wear both to the office and on the weekends.  When I saw this top it had “work and play” written all over it.  Here’s how I wore it to the office and out to brunch to celebrate my dear friend’s birthday.  Happy Birthday Mari! 

Top: Banana Republic; Skirt: Elie Tahari; Shoes: Jessica Simpson; Watch: LaMer

Blazer: LC for Kohls

4 Comments

Filed under we wear

4 responses to “Don’t worry, be happy

  1. I love everything about this top!

  2. Sharon

    Haha I saw some crazy stuff when I lived in the city! And I’m not sure if everyone is miserable or just afraid to make eye contact 🙂

    I love both ways you styled this top! Finding a versatile item really helps double a wardrobe.

    -Sharon
    The Tiny Heart

Leave a Reply

