Office Inspiration

Confession: Even though I have a perfectly decent office desk in the basement, I constantly find myself working at the kitchen table.  While it’s lovely because the kitchen table is right next to a window with perfect afternoon sunlight, it’s a pain at night when M and I want to sit down for dinner and all my papers and devices are in the way.  The truth is, I’d love to work downstairs but a ‘decent desk’ does not an office make and there are several more things I’ve got to do before my office lures me in.  Much like this one is luring me in right now:
Domicile id contemporary home office
What I love about this office:
  • The Lighting : While there’s probably overhead lighting in this office, I love how there are other lighting elements adding ambiance to the room.
  • The Color Scheme : The taupe and white combo is great on its own but the addition of the aqua and the mustard is unexpectedly pleasing.
  • The Non-Traditional Desk Chair : Not all office chairs have to have a conference room feel.  I love this non-traditional, almost 70s look chair.
  • The Oversized Wall Accent : That tree branch is the equivalent of a bold statement necklace — the perfect finishing touch.

So, with these ideas in mind, I put together the following inspiration board for my basement office:

Some of these things are completed, some are in progress and some must be procured, so here is the rundown of the to-dos for this room.

Basement Office Checklist:

  • Paint existing desk white
  • Purchase custom chair
  • Purchase rug
  • Find and purchase tangerine lamp (featured one is out of stock)

Now that I’ve written it down it doesn’t seem like a huge project so hopefully soon you’ll see the finished product.  Stay tuned.

5 Comments

Filed under we create

5 responses to “Office Inspiration

  1. I LOVE that first picture… I could totally use a desk area like that one!

    xo, Yi-chia
    Always Maylee

  2. How have I missed your blog? I just found your comment on Rachel’s Lookbook about appropriate professional attire so I jumped over. I just spent 30 minutes reading even though I didn’t really have time. Captivating. What a great blog. What great style. You have a new follower!

    http://theleatherskirt.blogspot.com/

    • Diana

      Thanks! I just stopped by your blog too. Looks like we are very similar, obsessive planners, ha ha. Thanks for following 🙂

  3. Really love that rug!

  4. I keep wanting a new desk area. I pretend it’ll make me feel more productive– even though it really won’t. Shhh. That first office, yeah I’d LOVE to have that.

Leave a Reply

