Uh Oh… These Pants Used To Fit

I remember my ‘freshman 15’. It was not fun. I actually spent the better part of my twenties trying to work those pounds off. And I succeeded. With the help of MyFitnessPal (best calorie counting app EVER), a South Beach Diet-esque mentality, my wonderful trainer, and a little wedding anxiety I was able to walk down the aisle the thinnest I’ve been since high school. Well, I’m convinced now that there’s something called the ‘newlywed 10’ too, because guess who’s no longer at their wedding weight folks. Me.

I have a theory about how this happened. I was actually able to maintain my weight throughout most of my first year of marriage but then sometime around December, the battery on my bathroom scale died. You wouldn’t think so, but I’m convinced that derailed my weight maintenance. I’m one of those girls who weighs themselves every day. So without my daily weigh-in, with the holidays rolling around, and back to back vacations, I unknowingly put on some weight over the following 6 months. When I finally replaced the battery on my scale (that battery was harder to find than you would think), my fears were confirmed — the number on my scale had gone up by 10.

So this week, I’m recommitting to health and fitness and in an effort to boost my motivation, I’m on a very strict diet and workout schedule. I did not want to be derailed however, so I took every step to make sure there would be no complications. I cooked (or prepped) breakfast and dinner for the week, in advance, and made sure that I only had healthy food in the house. No alcohol. Very few carbs. No refined sugar. I’m keeping my daily calorie intake at 1200 calories per day and trying to get at least 45 minutes of cardio per day. Hopefully, this will give me the boost I need to get back to my wedding weight (and just in time for the summer).

So let’s check out the food I’m eating this week. Since this strict diet is only for a week, I’m not too concerned about variety. Fortunately, eating the same thing every day doesn’t bore me. Here’s the food list:

Reset Week – Food List

Breakfast:

Lunch:

  • English Muffin w/ Organic Peanut Butter
  • English Muffin w/ sliced turkey and low fat cheese

Snacks:

  • Raw Almonds
  • Polly-O String Cheese
  • Sugar Free Jello Cup
  • Celery or Carrots and Organic Peanut Butter
  • Roasted Chickpeas @ Kalyn’s Kitchen
  • Fruit

Dinner:

Dessert:

  • Jello 60 Calorie Chocolate Pudding
  • Carb Smart Ice Cream Bar

I’m eating a combination of food from this list (keeping my intake at 1200 calories) and making sure to eat a good balance of protein, vegetables and whole grains.  Some may argue that 1200 calories is not enough — but as long as I don’t feel deprived, I think it’s okay.  If I ever do feel like I’m starving, I’ll eat a healthy, filling snack (most likely, the raw almonds).  Here are some photos from my prep on Sunday and tonight’s yummy dinner.  I’ll let you know my progress next week.

Also, if you’re on MyFitnessPal feel free to friend request me — my username is ccandela — it’s always fun to count calories together :).

 

5 Comments

Filed under we eat

5 responses to “Uh Oh… These Pants Used To Fit

  1. I’m using myfitnesspal right now too, i’ll friend you here in a bit 🙂

  2. good luck with your diet! that chicken salad sounds delicious 😉

    xoxo,

    Fashion Fractions

  3. I LOVE the MyFitnessPal app – that helped me lose the baby weight and then some. I also only had a 1200 calorie allowance but once I got to my goal weight it boosted up to 1600 and I feel like I make better food choices overall although I no longer track it. Maybe I will start again and add you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

