White, Blue, Yellow and Braids

I love Saturday afternoons in the city and while its always important to look great, trekking through the city demands comfort – especially in 90 degree weather like this past weekend.  So I put together this crisp and clean, white and blue outfit, paired it with some flats, a bold statement necklace and a braided updo.  More about the updo coming up.

blouse : zara (old)(similar) | white skinny jeans : michael kors @ annie sez (old)(similar)(similar and affordable): rose gold sandals | jennifer lopez @ kohls | yellow statement necklace : ebay | glasses : dita svelte | gold leaf earrings : annie sez (old)(similar)

Now about the updo.  From the front it doesn’t look like much but if you follow us on Facebook or Instagram, you saw this picture of the back of my updo that I posted on Saturday:

The french fishtail seashell braid.  I have to admit, this was a feat of engineering that I’m not sure I can replicate.  I saw this pin on Pinterest and was immediately inspired.  After much searching I finally found two YouTube videos whose instructions I was able to combine to create the look you see above.  I essentially replicated this forming technique but with the fishtail braid from this video.  Like I said before, I don’t know if I can recreate this but if I get enough interest, I’ll do a tutorial video for it.

 

In other news, I finally caught the first episode of The Newsroom, and since I’ve mostly been watching ABC Family fodder this summer, this show was definitely a nice change of pace.  I haven’t seen the second episode yet but the first was spectacularly written and acted.  It’s not as gritty as The Wire, nor as remarkably moving and understated as Mad Men (IMO the best shows of all time — the best, not my favorite), the first episode is very promising.  What are you watching this summer?

7 Comments

Filed under we wear

7 responses to “White, Blue, Yellow and Braids

  1. Your hair looks gorgeous! And your striped top is so cute. But I don’t know how you’re wearing pants in this heat, especially in the city! I dreaded summer in the city because as soon as I’d go into the subway, I’d melt!

    -Sharon

  2. Before even seeing this, I planned on wearing a dress that is the same blue and white stripes as your top with the same exact necklace tomorrow! Great, minds, Cat… Love the braid, btw.

  3. I’m so jealous of those jeans! I’ve been looking for a great pair of white jeans but no luck so far. Also, if I hadn’t just chopped all my hair off (I’m still unsure why I did that), I would totally try that hair – its so cute!

  4. Truly love the ease of this look! I’m dying for easy chic looks for the killer great weather! HELP. And braids are definitely the way to go for summer. so easy and so chic.

    http://www.TheStyleClimber.com

Leave a Reply

